Directorate of Environmental Affairs

The Directorate of Environmental Affairs (DEA) is responsible for environmental policy, regulation, coordination, inspection, supervision and monitoring of the environment and natural resources as well as the restoration of degraded ecosystems and mitigating and adapting to climate change. DEA comprised the three departments of Environmental Support Services (DESS), Forestry Sector Support Department (FSSD) and Wetlands Management (WMD). DEA works in collaboration with the National Environmental Management Authority (NEMA) and the National Forestry Authority (NFA) and the Uganda National Meteorological Authority.